Yakubu Dogara sued by 11 APC members

The speaker of the House of Representative, Yakubu Dogara, was sued by eleven All Progressive Congress (APC) members who are also current members of the House of Representative.

The suit which was filed at an Abuja High Court is seeking to quash a recent House rules in regards to the handling of the House mace.

Named also in the law suit are the House of Representative and its clerk Mohammed Sani Omolori.

The members are praying the court to nullify the rule passed on October, 2015, regarding the taking of the mace by any member of the House. The rule further placed different punishment for disobedience of the rules.

The rule which states that: “No member of the House or his agent may approach, handle or remove the mace under any circumstance.

“Any member who approaches or handles the mace with whatever intent, including to remove, or who removes the mace shall be liable to suspension from the service of the House for a period not less than six months or such longer period as the Speaker or Chairman may consider expedient having regard to the particular circumstances.”

The 11 APC lawmakers involved in the suit are: Aliyu Sani Madaki (Kano); Rotimi Agunsoye (Lagos); Aminu Ibrahim Malle (Taraba); Sunday Adepoju (Oyo); Ahmed Babba Kaita (Katsina); Philip Shuaibu (Edo); Abubakar Chika Adamu (Niger); Mohammed Musa Soba (Kaduna); Yusuf Bala Ikara (Kaduna); Abubakar Lado Suleja (Niger) and Lawal Yahaya Gumau (Bauchi).



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.